Data Guy from Portland, OR venturing into the Land Business...

Hi all -

New member from Portland, OR.

About Me:

My professional background is in BI and Data Engineering though my passion is in Real Estate. Like many of you, I was introduced to this amazing community Seth has been able to build via the 39th installment of the BP Podcast: Dirt Cheap Land Flipping.

I've been investing in RE for a little while now but I'm brand new to the land business. I'm not sure what it is about land exactly that excites me so much about land but I definitely seem to gravitate more towards it than any other strategy I've tried (rental, buy and hold, fix and flip). I think there a couple factors at play: multiple exit strategies, buying with built-in equity, and honestly, there is a lot of data in the land business! And I absolutely love data! I firmly believe that in this day and age, the success of a business will be ultimately be determined by its ability to drive business decisions and direction from data driven results.

If you need help with anything data related such as MS Access, SQL/NoSQL Databases, Excel/VBA/Macros, BI tools (Tableau/Power BI), don't hesitate to reach out!

What's Next:

I've absolutely been submerging myself with everything land related for the past few months. I actually just sent out a very small list (6) of hand-written letters to some tax delinquent property owners yesterday! I don't expect anything from these but given that the counties tax delinquencies were so limited, I figured I would hand write those myself.

I'm currently waiting on the paperwork for my LLC to go through but once that is done, I plan on targeting a much larger list of ~1500 leads in the same county with some blind offers.

I'm also finishing up the final touches to my buying website which I'm pretty excited about! I would love to share that with you all for some feedback but it seems like that tends to be something not many people do. I'm curious why that is?