Threats about being reported to the FTC

I’ve been sending out yellow postcards and every once in a while I get someone that threatens to report me to the authorities (FTC, BBB, etc.) if I don’t remove them from my mailing list. How are people handling these things? Are you removing these people or do you just ignore them and keep mailing?

@jonesmatr I built a CRM for myself and within it I have a “Do Not Mail” attribute. If someone calls in upset asking to be removed from the mailing list, I just check that and mail will no longer go out to them.

It seems silly to ignore them and keep mailing. They’re obviously not interested at all. Seems like a waste on 50(ish) cents!

@dvucak Thanks. I’m still new to all this and I don’t have a CRM set up yet where I can easily find them in my leads to remove them. How did you build your own CRM?

@jonesmatr as long as you’re sending mail to thousands of people who didn’t ask for it, there will always be a small trickle of responses from those who are angry and issue threats like this.

Most of these angry responses can be disheartening to hear, but it will rarely, if ever, result in anything bad happening to you or your company. Even if they do report you to the BBB, you didn’t actually do any business with them, so their complaint, however angry they are, doesn’t hold much weight.

And remember, you’re not technically breaking any rules by sending them mail. Even if they’ve added their name to the DMA’s do-not-mail list, this only applies to marketers who are part of the DMA, not you. The only way I know that they would legally have a way to “get you back” is if they filed a prohibitory order with the USPS and you STILL kept sending them mail.

Keep in mind, in order to do this, the recipient has to pass through several steps, and the first few are as follows:

• Addressee receives mailpiece
  • Mailpiece must be an offer to sell something, pursuant to 39 U.S.C. § 3008(a)