What are your typical closing costs?

Hi there,

Beginner here. I have done some research about closing costs, but most resources I found were related to buying a house using a mortgage and not to buying vacant land without a mortgage.

What are your typical closing costs on the buy and on the sell side provided that
a) you use a title agency both when buying and selling the property
b) you use an agent to sell the property.

Let’s say you buy a property for 30k and sell it for 70k.

My questions are:

1. What would be your average title agency fees when buying the property for 30k?
  2. What other closing costs are there? What would be your overall expenses when buying?
  3. How much does an agent typically charge?
  4. What would be the title agency fees and other fees on the sell side?
  5. Who typically has to carry the title agency fees on the sell side? (I understand that is negotiable but what is standard?).
  6. Who typically has to carry the agent’s fees?

I understand those fees probably also depend on the area, but it would be great to get an average.

Thanks!

@johannes

Hey man!

I know we spoke during Office Hours yesterday, but I think this is a great opportunity to follow up - thanks for posting this here!

During Office Hours, I wasn’t able to share the settlement statement on the current deal I’m doing because it had sensitive information on it.

I went ahead and blocked that information, so I could upload it here (see below).

I feel like this is a good representation of a “run-of-the-mill” or “base-hit” kind of a deal.

Breaking Down The Numbers

• The price it’s being sold for is $10,900

• I bought it for $3,210.57 (including closing costs), which a private money lender funded as a mortgage.

• When you total all my closing costs, I’m paying $571.69

• This does not include $654 I’m paying in agent commissions