Getting Delinquent Taxes Paid

Hi everyone. I’m just getting started with land investing and could really use some advice on dealing with tax delinquent properties. Specifically, the county I’m working in requires that delinquent taxes be paid by the person who was the owner WHEN the taxes became delinquent. So it seems that I can’t buy the parcel and then pay the taxes. I can think of two possible ways to address this: I could ask the owner to sign a purchase agreement that includes a contingency that they must pay the taxes first and then they’ll receive the purchase price plus the taxes they paid. Or I could set it up so they sign the agreement, then I send the seller the tax money and pay them for the property after the taxes have been remitted. This can be a win-win, but I don’t want to get burned. Maybe I should have a third party involved? Anyone have some thoughts on this? Thanks in advance!

@shaunb777

Honestly, I have never heard of that. What County and State?

Here are some possible ideas to consider:

1. Google search [county name, ST] + “pay real estate taxes on line” to se if they have an on line pay portal that you could possibly use to pay by credit card. If so, I suspect the CC processor won’t care who pay its.
  2. Pay the taxes with a cashiers check or money order made out and mailed to the county tax office with the previous owner’s name and property APN in the memo.
  3. At time of closing have the previous owner sign a limited power of attorney granting yo the power to pay property taxes for them for the period in question.
5 Likes