Handling an Area with a TON of Land on Market

Hi Guys I’m new to the REtipster forum but have been following Seth for about 2 years now. Finally pulling the trigger!

My question is when determining a market to go into do you take into consideration the number of vacant land properties currently for sale?

A few markets I’m looking at have a TON of land for sale and others hardly have any. How do you weigh the current number of land properties on the market?

@jthompson, it’s an interesting question. Probably depends on a number of other factors, and one in particular that comes to mind is the data (prices, days on market, etc.) of the sold properties in the area.

In other words, if you came across a market that was just very active, with a lot of properties for sale at any one time, with many of them being sold fairly quickly, that’s not a bad thing at all. On the other hand, if no one seems to be finding buyers for their properties in a given market, that’s obviously not good, unless you can find properties that are more desirable and/or priced lower than everyone else.

1 Like

@dl7573 That is a great point. If the properties are selling quickly then possibly it isn’t a bad market to be in.

It would be great if there was software that could give the average days on market for vacant lots in a given area. “Calling all app builders”

How did you weigh this information when deciding on an area to operate in?

@jthompson, I honestly haven’t performed that level of analysis prior to sending my first mailing to any particular area. Not saying it’s a bad idea or anything; just not something I’ve done personally. Instead of that kind of analysis, I’ve just started with markets where I’ve had some level of familiarity with the area, either because I’ve lived there at some point, know people who live there, or I’ve visited and thought it seemed like a place that some people would likely want to buy property.