How to handle the transfer of funds when self-closing

I am new to the idea of land flipping, but I have a decent understanding of running title and doing due diligence in my state. Drawing up contacts shouldn’t be an issue either. What I am having some issues with is when the actual transfer of funds takes place. I maybe over thinking this, but it’s been kind of a hang up for me. I plan on using a mobile notary for my first closing. Should I send out payment to the seller after it has been recorded in the court house?the seller would be putting a lot of trust in me at that point to send funds and I don’t think I would ever do that if I was selling land. Anyway, does the transfer of funds kinda differ from case to case ? Any input would be appreciated, thanks.

It looks like Karl James answered this the best way possible:

Send the prepared deed for the seller to notarize, along your cashiers check for payment, to the mobile notary with explicit written notary instructions that require that seller sign and give the deed to the notary for notarization and sending to you before the notary hands over the check to the seller.

I was thinking the notary was there as a witness only. But giving the notary instructions with the funds in there hands makes sense, thanks. That was the answer I was looking for

3 Likes

@jimthorne34 - yep, Karl's got it right.

Also, I wouldn't say you're overthinking it. This is one of the more delicate steps in the closing process, and even with a mobile notary, it takes a bit of explaining and intentionality to make sure everyone has the right instructions and does everything right. It's definitely achievable... but just to give you credit, it's an important step, and worth spending the time to make sure it's done right!

4 Likes