Importance of Environmental Site Assessment

Hi all,

I am a relatively new land investor, and I recently learned that liability for past environmental issues can often fall on the current owner of a property. I am wondering how others deal with this risk, since I have heard the clean-up costs for these kind of issues can be astronomical. From what I have gathered, having an official Environmental Site Assessment done before purchasing a property can provide some protection, but the pricing on those can be several thousand dollars per property.

Has anyone ever had this kind of assessment done or been burned by not discovering an environmental issue before purchasing?

I simply filter industrial use properties off my list before mailing.

1 Like

@alexandra-hurst I'm not an enviro expert, but I believe environmental site assessments are only necessary for commercial and industrial properties. If you're looking at residential property, most states don't have any requirements for testing and remediation... you literally don't even need to think about it for a residential property. So, if you're only looking at residential properties to flip, then don't worry about it.

On the other hand, if you are looking at commercial or industrial properties, then you'll probably want to do some very basic screening to make sure there are no red flags worth looking into. I believe one common test is called the RSRA (usually around $500 for this report), which is a simple pull of information from a computer. They don't look very deep and nobody visits the property with this test, but it just tells them if there are any clues that point to environmental problems.

If the RSRA indicates any potential problems, then you'll want to order a Phase I assessment (usually $1,000 or more). This is when the costs start getting significant and someone actually visits the property.